Tony takes Tyler Trophy

Share this article
Have your say

PLAYERS from 48 clubs entered Stoke Rochford Seniors’ 16th annual Open Championship.

The field of more than 130 included were split into three age groups with the overall champion, winner of group A and winner of the Ben Tyler Trophy for the best score by a Stoke player, Tony Walker with 38 points.

Group B winner was Keith Dugmore (Stoke Rochford, 36 pts) and group C was won by Richard Kerkham of King’s Lynn, also with 36 points.

l STOKE Rochford’s Bursnall Cup was won by Avis Griffin with 35 points, narrowly ahead of Joan Lennard and Gillian Little who both finished on 34.

Avis also won the Ladies Medal for three trophies in different handicap sections Silver Rose (0-20 handicaps) with a net 73. Second, also with a net 73 was Joan Lennard, and third with a net 75 was Sue Booth.

The Marlow Midway for players with 21-28 handicaps was won by Roni Proctor with a net 80, and the Leverett Cup for 29-36 handicap players was won by Elaine Kirby with a net 72.

l STOKE’S seniors were beaten 5-3 by Luffenham Heath Seniors.

Results: Mike Dickinson & Barry Coop lost 3&2; Mick Rance & Graham Miller won 1 up; Roger Smith & Chris Woof lost 2&1; Malcolm Edwards & Roy Rowe lost 6&5; Keith Dugmore & Ernie Armstrong won 5&3; Brian Kelly & Philip Varley lost 3&1; Ken Taylor & Mike Graves won 6&5; Don Clements & Dave Hamston lost 2&1