Wheelers dominate

Have your say

Bourne Wheelers dominated the first round of the four club Hereward League.

After the leading the field for the last five years, the Wheelers were hoping to take bragging rights against Spalding, Fenland and Peterborough CC for a sixth year and despite missing top riders Jason Burrill and James Gelsthorpe, the Bourne club still had to much firepower for the opposition.

Sian Botteley, riding for her home town club, took maximum points in the handicap-based competition, after stopping the watch for the 10 mile race at 26m42s.

Filling the next four places were Adam and Mark Botteley, last year’s winner Tim James and Dan Burton, while Jamie Nation (seventh) and Campbell Pollock (10th) secured the Bourne club seven of the top 10 places in the opening round.

The next round is hosted by Bourne on Wednesday.

On Wednesday evening a smaller field than usual contested the fifth round of the evening 10 league.

Campbell Pollock was quickest of the 20 riders with 25m32s on the slowest night of the year. Second fastest was Bart Kieres (25.56) with quest rider Stuart Boyd 26.37 coming third.