Home   Sport   Article

Champions do the double after claiming Ketco Cup glory

The final matches have been played in this season’s Stamford and Rutland League and Braunston A have managed to survive the strong challenge of Uffington CC A to claim the runners-up spot.

They travelled to Tallington Bulls requiring seven points to clinch second place and achieved a 10-0 victory.

Despite the scoreline, the Bulls ensured the Braunston players had to work hard for their win but Carl Slevin, Brian Bodycote and Basil Bagshaw all played strongly to enjoy a final unbeaten evening of their season.

Braunston A: Brian Bodycote, Carl Slevin and Alex Mason. (10264627)
Braunston A: Brian Bodycote, Carl Slevin and Alex Mason. (10264627)

The race for the final place in the top four was won by Stamford School.

Last year’s champions hoped to prevent MTTG from enjoying an unblemished season, but only Leigh Ware managed to pressure the county’s top team.

He won twice for the Academics, before winning the opening leg against Dave Needham in their battle for the averages.

But Needham gained revenge for his defeat to Ware in the divisional semi-final last month and led his team to an 8-2 win.

Andy Goodacre and Denise Jacobi picked up a brace of wins apiece for MTTG while, at the end of the match, the school said goodbye to Ryan Chung as he leaves for university, following four years of fierce yet sporting play and success on the league and county stages.

Bourne A defeated Tallington Bulls 9-1, but Adam Mezzatesta’s win against Stuart Wills meant that Stamford School finished fourth by virtue of winning one more game than the Bourne side during the season. Steve Smith and John Buck both remained unbeaten for the visitors.

Ketco Cup finalists MTTG are Andy Goodacre, Dave Needham and Denise Jacobi. (10264629)
Ketco Cup finalists MTTG are Andy Goodacre, Dave Needham and Denise Jacobi. (10264629)

The top two teams met in the final of the Ketco (handicap) Cup.

Alex Mason, the only player to beat Dave Needham in the regular season, returned to bolster Braunston A as they attempted to deprive MTTG of the league and cup double.

With just a 20-point advantage at the beginning of the evening, Braunston needed a strong start, however, Andy Goodacre picked up 15 points in the opening match against Brian Bodycote.

Mason then regained six points in a tough encounter with Needham before Denise Jacobi overcame Carl Slevin by five points in a highly-competitive third match.

Braunston A still led after the fourth match, but MTTG would have been heartened by Goodacre picking up a further couple of points against Mason.

Jacobi eased MTTG into the lead during her match with Bodycote and, from that moment in the final, the champions extended their lead to ultimately win 385-338.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More