Home   Sport   Article

Thurlby punish wasteful Bourne Blues U12s

Football ENGPNL00120130210130301
Football ENGPNL00120130210130301

A depleted but spirited Bourne Blues Under 12s went down 3-0 at near neighbours Thurlby, a result that did scant justice to the Bourne squad.

The home side probably played the more controlled football but the endeavour and spirit, particularly in the second half when they were behind, resulted in Bourne achieving attacking parity.

Crucially in the first half Thurlby massed more effectively around excellent defenders Darren Halliday and William Russell, whereas Alex Pimblett, was left exposed when a swift and skilful counter attack was launched.

Ben Thirsk was the dynamo behind the counter attacks with sound support from George Pengely who had a lively tussle with Lewis Jones and they both made and scored first half goals.

Bourne, with Tom Spinley industrious on the left started brightly, and created a series of threatening situations without really testing goalkeeper James Moxley.

Bourne conceded a goal to Thurlby’s first real attack. Bourne then had a golden opportunity to equalise when Dylan Taylor was brought down in the area but in a defining moment his penalty brought a fine save low to his right from Moxley.

Bourne were temporarily deflated and two goals, the third from Max Moore put Bourne on the back foot.

Finn McCullough, Bourne’s star on the day, switched to centre half for the second half and alongside Charlie Halsey and Toby Patterson they brought some stability and Henry Brewster made good saves to keep a second stanza clean sheet.

The midfield of Harrison Gray, Ethan Ring and Louis Jones challenged enthusiastically and played balls early for Joseph Revell who gave the home defence all sorts of problems with his pace and control and they forced a dozen corners in the half.

Each cross was delivered perfectly into the danger area by Taylor but the final touch proved elusive even when the ball rolled across the goal just a few feet out.

Thurlby were relieved to maintain a clean sheet and deserved the victory but Bourne’s persistence deserved better.

Thurlby: Acam Austin; Darren Halliday; Max Moore; James Moxley; George Pengelly; William Russell; Ben Sparks; Ben Thirsk; Tristran Waumsley; Dylan Wright:

Bourne: Henry Brewster; Harrison Gray; Charlie Halsey; Louis Jones; Finn McCullogh; Toby Patterson; Alex Pimblett; Joseph Revell; Ethan Ring; Tom Spinley; Dylan Taylor: Lewis Thorley:


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More