Home   Sport   Article

Yarham holds lead as closest rivals crumble under pressure

President's Cup at Burghley Park.
President's Cup at Burghley Park.

Mark Yarham and Richard Keal were the overall dominant forces in the LCP Trophy at Burghley Park.

After the dry spell the course was firm and running on Sunday for the third and final round of the aggregate competition.

In the gross event, Burghley stalwart Yarham, playing off five, started the day with an eight-shot lead after recording 75 and 74 in the previous rounds, but found the conditions testing and could only manage a 78.

However, his closest rivals were now under pressure, knowing that a level par gross 70 was needed to tie the lead and none were able to close the gap significantly.

Richard Keal, starting in second spot, carded a 75 to close the gap by three shots as did third placed Adi Ward and those were the positions they finished in.

Dave Forrest began the day in fourth place, but an 81 ended his chances for this year.

So, at the end of the day Yarham had held on at the top, on a total of 227 for a five-shot win.

The best gross score of the day was recorded by Joe Lippett, playing off two, who came in with an excellent gross 69, net 67 which gave him both the net and gross prizes for the day, and saw his handicap cut to one.

In the net event, Stewart Ward started the day with a narrow one shot lead after his two earlier rounds of net 69, but couldn’t quite repeat the feat, his net 74 slipping him down the rankings where he eventually finished in fourth place.

Yarham started the day second after rounds of 70 and 69 and added a 73 which wasn’t quite enough to maintain his position, ending the day in third place overall on a total of 212.

Last year’s winner Keal and Rob Tapp shared third place at the start of play and had a titanic struggle with each other all day, both going under par.

In the end it was Keal who prevailed once again, his 68 edging him in front of Tapp, whose 69 wasn’t quite enough.

Keal joined the select band of players who had managed to defend their title successfully, ending with a total of 209, with Tapp second on 210.

Both were rewarded with further handicap cuts, Keal coming down to six and Tapp to 14.

The prizes for round three went to Lippett (net 67), Keal (68) and Paul Ramm (69) in Division One, Chris Quinn (68), Peter Barnes (68) Gary Harrison (70) in Division 2 and Charles Cade (68), Jim McEwan (68) and Tapp (69) in Division Three.

The Vince Kelly Midweek Stableford at Burghley Park saw 31 competitors toe the start line in difficult conditions, which clearly impacted the scoring.

Alex McGowan (25) took his first win at Burghley with 36 points, putting together two halves of net par, to give him victory by one point.

Paul Wilkinson (9) finished second with 35 points, after an eventful round that saw him fail to score on three holes. John Beeby (16) took third spot, also on 35.

The President’s Open took place at Burghley Park and was played as a pairs better ball Stableford event, which drew teams from the home club as well as from a wide range of clubs across the region.

Sponsors The One Group were delighted with the support the event received, especially as it turned out to be extremely tight at the top, with five pairs finishing with 40 points.

Appropriately, it was a pair from the sponsors, Anthony Barnes and Graham Shaw, who ended up winning the trophy on countback. Both players are members at Burghley, so local knowledge was clearly significant.

Second place was claimed by Jamie and Mike Wilson from Nene Park, with Dean Wilson and Paul Rylance from Burghley finishing third.

Sue and Chris Churchill from the home club were fourth with Andy Philips (Thorney Lakes) and Jonathan Day (Lincoln) finishing fifth.

Nearest the pin prizes went to Anthony Barnes, Bob Pimlott, Anne Hughes, Paul Nelson and Richard Keal.

The Ladies Winners’ Salver at Burghley drew together all those who had won trophies during the year.

Helen Cox (17) emerged victorious with her net 75, ahead of Sue Churchill (16) on 78 and Kay Hircock (15) on 80.

The Autumn Shield, a better ball pairs competition, took place with 12 pairs taking part.

Lynn Collen and Barbara Newell were clear winners, their 44 points giving them victory by three shots from Gail Hunt and Jayne Carney, with Kay Hircock and Nicky Plumtree a further shot back in third place.

The Peggy Baxter Trophy was dominated by Pat Hudson (14), whose two under par net 71 gave her the trophy by a clear margin, and saw her handicap cut to 13.

After a steady front nine, dropping just a couple of shots to gross par, Pat went round the back nine in three under par gross to break away from the chasing pack. Joanne Wheatley (28) was second on 75 with Janet Metcalfe (33) third on 76.

Fifty-four players turned out on Monday for the Seniors nine-hole qualifier at Burghley, which was dominated by the ladies.

Pauline Crampin (32) carded 20 points to take top spot, despite a triple bogey on the eighth, and saw her handicap cut to 31.

Pippa Le Sage (27) claimed second place on 19 points, which also included a triple bogey, and was cut to 26.

Ron Smith (16) did his bit to uphold the honour of the men by taking third place, also on 19 points.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More